Big Changes in India’s T20 World Cup 2024 Squad: Bumrah and Samson In, 7 Players Dropped

Big Changes in India's T20 World Cup 2024
Big Changes in India’s T20 World Cup 2024

India is determined to end its 17-year wait for a T20 World Cup trophy as they compete in the ninth edition of the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup. The Men in Blue won the first-ever T20 World Cup in 2007 under MS Dhoni’s leadership in South Africa but haven’t lifted the trophy since. This time, led by Rohit Sharma, the team is eager to change that and claim their second title. India kicks off their T20 World Cup 2024 campaign on Wednesday, June 5, against Ireland.

The match is part of Group A and will be held at the Nassau County International Cricket Stadium in New York. Historically, India has dominated Ireland in T20Is, winning all seven encounters so far. The team hopes to continue this winning streak and start the tournament on a high note. Reflecting on their journey, India reached the semifinals of the 2022 T20 World Cup but faced a crushing defeat against England in Adelaide on November 10, 2022. This loss has fuelled their determination to perform better this time around.

The 2024 squad sees a mix of familiar faces and fresh talent. India has retained eight players from the 2022 squad, signalling a blend of experience and continuity. Notably, Jasprit Bumrah, the ace fast bowler, returns to bolster the bowling attack. His inclusion is seen as a significant boost for the team. Another exciting addition is Sanju Samson, the dynamic wicketkeeper-batsman, who brings depth and versatility to the batting lineup.

India T20 World Cup 2024 Squad SWOT Analysis: Men in Blue Aim to End ICC Trophy Drought

Under Rohit Sharma’s captaincy, the team has been strategizing meticulously to address past shortcomings and maximize their strengths. Sharma’s leadership, combined with the experience of senior players and the enthusiasm of newcomers, is expected to create a balanced and formidable squad. India’s quest for the T20 World Cup title is not just about ending a long wait but also about reaffirming their dominance in the shortest format of the game. The players are aware of the expectations and are gearing up to deliver their best performances.

The opening match against Ireland is crucial, not just for gaining early momentum but also for setting the tone for the rest of the tournament. Fans across the globe are eagerly waiting to see if India can finally break the jinx and lift the T20 World Cup trophy once again. With a strong squad, renewed focus, and the hunger to win, the Men in Blue are all set to embark on this exciting journey, hoping to make history in New York.


India has made significant changes for the 2024 T20 World Cup. Seven players from the 2022 squad are missing this year: KL Rahul, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Deepak Hooda, Dinesh Karthik, Ravichandran Ashwin, Mohammed Shami, and Harshal Patel. Shami is out due to injury, while the others were dropped. These changes reflect a strategic move to enhance team performance and address past shortcomings. With new additions like Jasprit Bumrah and Sanju Samson, India aims to break their 17-year T20 World Cup title drought.

In: India’s

T20 World Cup 2024 squad features some exciting additions. Jasprit Bumrah and Ravindra Jadeja, who missed the last edition due to injuries, are back in action. Joining them for the first time in a T20 World Cup are Kuldeep Yadav, Shivam Dube, Sanju Samson, Yashasvi Jaiswal, and Mohammed Siraj. These new picks, along with the returning stars, bring fresh energy and talent, aiming to help India end their 17-year title drought. Fans are eagerly anticipating how this revamped squad will perform on the big stage.

Retained players:

Rohit Sharma, Virat Kohli, Rishabh Pant, Suryakumar Yadav, Hardik Pandya, Axar Patel, Arshdeep Singh, and Yuzvendra Chahal are eight players who have managed to retain their place in the T20 World Cup 2024 squad from the previous edition.

India’s full squad for the T20 World Cup 2024:

Rohit Sharma (C), Yashasvi Jaiswal, Virat Kohli, Suryakumar Yadav, Rishabh Pant (WK), Hardik Pandya, Ravindra Jadeja, Axar Patel, Kuldeep Yadav, Jasprit Bumrah, Arshdeep Singh, Mohammed Siraj, Yuzvendra Chahal, Sanju Samson, Shivam Dube

Leave a Reply